Thursday, April 3, 2008

NJ Ironmen Make Playoffs


NEWARK, N.J. (Friday, April 4 2008)- The past nine hours have been good to the New Jersey Ironmen (14-15). After ringing the Closing Bell Thursday at NASDAQ MarketSite in Times Square, a 16-12 Philadelphia KiXX loss to La Raza de Monterrey in Mexico has given the expansion Ironmen the final bid to the 2008 MISL playoffs.

The Ironmen host the Baltimore Blast (18-12) in their regular season finale Friday night at Prudential Center with kickoff is slated for 8:00 p.m. The action-packed night will conclude with an All-Star Exhibition at Prudential Center that will follow the contest against the Blast. A portion of proceeds from ticket sales and sponsorship will benefit youth charities in the tri-state area.



The New Jersey Ironmen, operated by Jeff Vanderbeek and Michael Gilfillan of the NHL New Jersey Devils ownership group, join the Baltimore Blast, California Cougars, Chicago Storm, Detroit Ignition, Milwaukee Wave, La Raza de Monterrey (MX), Orlando Sharks, and the Philadelphia KiXX in the 2007-08 MISL regular season, which commenced in mid-October and will conclude at the end of March. The Ironmen play a 15-match home schedule at Prudential Center in the Downtown Core Redevelopment District of Newark. The Ironmen are coached by two-time MISL Coach of the Year Omid Namazi and Assistant Coach Kevin Sloan. For more information on the New Jersey Ironmen, visit


The Major Indoor Soccer League, a single-entity organization with a coast-to-coast presence, represents the major league of professional indoor soccer, featuring the finest indoor soccer players from 32 countries around the world. The nine MISL clubs competing in the 2007-08 season are the Baltimore Blast, California Cougars, Chicago Storm, 2007 championship finalist Detroit Ignition, Milwaukee Wave, and the defending MISL Champion Philadelphia KiXX, with the addition of three expansion clubs, La Raza de Monterrey, New Jersey Ironmen, and the Orlando Sharks. The standings for the 2007-08 regular season are based on a single table of the nine Member Clubs. The MISL regular season commenced on the weekend of October 19-21, 2007 and concludes on the weekend of April 4-6, 2008. Each Club plays a thirty-match (30) regular-season schedule (15 home / 15 away). The 2008 MISL Championship Series consists of six of the nine MISL Member Clubs competing in three rounds, the Quarterfinal Round (April 11-13), the Semifinal Round (April 18-20), and the Championship Series Final (April 26) at U.S. Cellular Arena in Milwaukee. For more information on the MISL, visit the League's official website

No comments: